141 of 193 countries, the UN General Assembly voted on 2 March 2022 for a resolution that deplored in
the “strongest terms” Russia’s attack on Ukraine and demanded an immediate withdrawal of Russian troops.
The resolution demands that Russia “immediately, completely and unconditionally withdraw all of its military forces from the territory of Ukraine within its internationally recognized borders.
Five countries – Belarus, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (more commonly known as North Korea) Eritrea, Russia and Syria – voted against it, while 35 abstained.
India had abstained from voting. India has sent humanitarian aid to Ukraine which indicates India’s stand in the crisis. Also, Russia being India’s strategic partner, the decision of India to abstain from voting had sent a message to the world that India intends to solve disputes through dialouge.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!