Results to the state legislative assemblies of five states, Punjab, Manipur, Goa, Uttar Pradesh, and Uttarakhand was announced on 10 March 2022.

Results at a glance

BJP had won Manipur, Goa, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand while AAP became the leading political party in Punjab.

The Bharathiya Janata Party will form government again in all the four states except Punjab.

State Legislative Assemblies : Constitutional Provisions

Article 168: Constitution of Legislatures in States

Article 168 of the constitution provides for the constitution of legislatures in the States. Uttar Pradesh legislature is bicameral, i.e. has two houses, one is called as the Legislative Council and the other as Legislative Assembly.

Article 170: Composition of the Legislative Assemblies

(1) Subject to the provisions of article 333, the Legislative Assembly of each State shall consist of not more than five hundred, and not less than sixty, members chosen by direct election from territorial constituencies in the State.

Article 172 Duration of State Legislatures

(1) Every Legislative Assembly of every State, unless sooner dissolved, shall continue for five years from the date appointed for its first meeting and no longer and the expiration of the said period of 1 [five years] shall operate as a dissolution of the Assembly: Provided that the said period may, while a Proclamation of Emergency is in operation, be extended by Parliament by law for a period not exceeding one year at a time and not extending in any case beyond a period of six months after the Proclamation has ceased to operate.

(2) The Legislative Council of a State shall not be subject to dissolution, but as nearly as possible one-third of the members thereof shall retire as soon as may be on the expiration of every second year in accordance with the provisions made in that behalf by Parliament by law.

Article 173 Qualification for membership of State Legislature

A person shall not be qualified to be chosen to fill a seat in the Legislature of a State unless he —

(a) is a citizen of India, and makes and subscribes before some person authorised in that behalf by the Election Commission an oath or affirmation according to the form set out for the purpose in the Third Schedule; 

(b) is, in the case of a seat in the Legislative Assembly, not less than twenty-five years of age and, in the case of a seat in the Legislative Council, not less than thirty years of age; and

(c) possesses such other qualifications as may be prescribed in that behalf by or under any law made by Parliament.

Manipur : State Assembly

PartyNo of Seats
Total No of Seats : 60

Goa : State Assembly

PartyNo of Seats
Total No of Seats : 40

Punjab : State Assembly

PartyNo of Seats
Total No of Seats : 117

Uttar Pradesh : State Assembly

PartyNo of Seats
Total No of Seats : 403

Uttarakhand : State Assembly

PartyNo of Seats
Total No of Seats : 70

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!