By 고려 - Own work, CC BY 4.0,

Presidential elections were held in South Korea on 9 March 2022. Under the South Korean constitution, presidents are restricted to a single five-year term, meaning that incumbent president Moon Jae-in was ineligible to run for a second term.

Mr.Yoon from the main opposition People Power Party won by a narrow margin against ruling Liberal Democratic Party candidate Lee Jae-myung.

The president of South Korea is elected via a single-round plurality voting system, for a term of five years.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi has congratulated President-elect Yoon Suk-yeol on his victory in the Presidential elections.

Mr. Yoon is to take office in May 2022 and serve a single five-year term as leader of the world’s 10th
largest economy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!