Lieutenant General Manoj Chandrashekhar Pande, Vice Chief of the Army Staff will take over as the new Chief of Army Staff from 30 April 2022. General Manoj Mukund Naravane is the current Chief of Army Staff (COAS). Lt.Gen. Pandey will be the 29th COAS.

Prior to 1955, each service was placed under its own Commander-in-Chief. From 1955 onwards, the Commander-in-Chief was renamed as Chief of Army Staff, Chief of Naval Staff and Chief of Air Staff. The post of Chief of Defence Staff was created in 2019. The General Bipin Rawat was the first Chief of Defence Staff who took office on 1 January 2020. General Rawat died in office in a helicopter crash on 8 December 2021. Chief of Defence Staff is the head of Indian Military and the Chairman of the Chiefs of Staff Committee (PC-CoSC). Currently, the post of Chief of Defence Staff is vacant. The Chiefs of Staff will retire at the age of 62 or for a period of 3 years which ever is earlier. The superannuation age for Chief of Defence Staff is 65 with no fixed tenure.

Chief of Army Staff is the head of Indian Army and the highest ranking officer of the Indian Army. General Sir Robert McGregor Macdonald Lockhart was appointed as the first Commander in Chief of the Indian Army of independent India from 15th Aug 1947 to 31st Dec 1947. General Lockhart was commissioned in the British Indian Army and joined 51 Sikhs Frontier Force on 08th Mar 1914. Field Marshal K M Cariappa was the first Indian Commander-in-Chief of Indian Army. General Maharaj Shri Rajendrasinhji Jadeja, also known as K.S. Rajendrasinhji, was the first Chief of Army Staff of the Indian army, and the second Indian, after Field Marshal K. M. Cariappa, to become Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Army


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!