Ajay Kumar Sood, a Distinguished Professor of Physics at the Indian Institute of Science has been appointed Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA) to the Government of India. He is the 4th PSA. He is known for his research works in grahene and nanotechnology. In 2003, Dr. Sood received padmashri from President Pranab Mukharjee in 2013. He completed his Ph.D. in Physics from Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore in the year 1982. He is a Member of Science, Technology and Innovation Advisory Council to the PM of India since 2018. He succeeds K. VijayRaghavan, the 3rd PSA and the former director of the National Centre for Biological Sciences.

Principal Scientifc Adviser

In 1999, the Cabinet approved creation of the post of Principal Scientifc Adviser with the objective of providing pragmatic and objective advice to the Prime Minister and cabinet on matters related to science, technology and innovation with a focus on application of science and technology in critical infrastructure, economic and social sectors in partnership with Government departments, institutions and industry.

Dr A.P.J. Abdul Kalam was the first Principal Scientific Adviser to the cabinet of Shri. Atal Bihari Vajpayee. R Chidambaram, the second PSA completed 16 years as the top science advisor to the Union Government.

 Scientific Advisory Council to the Cabinet (SAC-C) has members comprising of Secretaries of all Science Departments/Ministries, presidents of Indian Science and Engineering academics, presidents of Industry Associations, eminent technocrats from industry and senior faculty from academia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!