“A Declaration for the Future of the Internet”, a global declaration to keep the Internet open, free, and neutral was endorsed by the United States, European Union and 32 other states on 28 April 2022. The states that have endorsed the declaration are

Cabo VerdeCanada
ColombiaCosta Rica
Dominican RepublicGeorgia
Iceland Israel
Jamaica Japan
Kenya Kosovo
Maldives Marshall Islands
Micronesia Moldova
Montenegro New Zealand
Niger North Macedonia
Peru Senegal
Serbia Taiwan
Trinidad and Tobagothe United Kingdom
United StatesEuropean Union (Countries)

The objective of the declaration is to promote connectivity, democracy, peace, the rule of law, sustainable development, and the enjoyment of human rights and fundamental freedoms.
The declaration calls for the partners to actively support a future for the Internet that is an open, free, global, interoperable, reliable, and secure.

The Internet has brought humanity together, like never before in history. Today, for the first time, like-minded countries from all over the world are setting out a shared vision for the future of the Internet, to make sure that the values we hold true offline are also protected online, to make the Internet a safe place and trusted space for everyone, and to ensure that the Internet serves our individual freedom. Because the future of the Internet is also the future of democracy, of humankind.

Ursula von der Leyen
President of the European Commission

The vision statement of the document aims to the build an ecosystem where:

• Human rights and fundamental freedoms, and the well-being of all individuals are protected and
• All can connect to the Internet, no matter where they are located, including through increased access,
affordability, and digital skills;
• Individuals and businesses can trust the safety and the confidentiality of the digital technologies they use and that their privacy is protected;
• Businesses of all sizes can innovate, compete, and thrive on their merits in a fair and competitive ecosystem;
• Infrastructure is designed to be secure, interoperable, reliable, and sustainable;
• Technology is used to promote pluralism and freedom of expression, sustainability, inclusive economic
growth, and the fight against global climate change

India is not a party to the declaration as on date. More countries are expected to be a partner to the declaration in the coming weeks. China and Russia also kept away from the declaration. The Declaration is an inclusive initiative, and the partners will continue to reach other governments to involve them in the Declaration. All partners will reach out to the private sector, international organisations, the technical community, academia, and civil society, and other relevant stakeholders worldwide to work in partnership to achieve the vision of an open, free, global, interoperable, reliable and secure Internet, stated the European commission press release.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!