President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has appointed Ranil Wickramasinghe as the Prime Minister of Sri Lanka on 12 May 2022. Ranil is the lone MP of his party in the 225 seat parliament. He represents  United National Party (UNP). Wickremesinghe has just one seat in the 225-member Parliament.

Ranil Wickremesinghe served as Prime Minister of Sri Lanka for five times from 1993 to 1994, 2001 to 2004, 2015 to 2018 and 2018 to 2019 and has served as Leader of the Opposition for two times from 1994 to 2001 and from 2004 to 2015.

Former PM Mahinda Rajapaksa and President Gotabaya congratulated the new PM. Wickramasinghe took charge when no else was willing to take up the position. The leader of opposition, Sajith Premadasa, was willing to take up only on the condition that the President should resign. He also demanded that Executive Presidency should be abolished.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!