Rajiv Kumar, an officer of the Indian Administrative Service of Bihar/Jharkhand cadre 1984 batch, assumed charge as the 25th Chief Election Commissioner of India at Election Commission of India on 15 May 2022.

Shri Anup Chandra Pandey is the Election Commissioner of India. The post of other Election Commissioner fell vacant as Rajiv took over as CEC.

Chief Election Commissioner of India

The Chief Election Commissioner of India and Election Commissioners is appointed by the President of India.

Election Commission has been established under the Article 324 of the Constitution of India in order to carry out and regulate the holding of elections in India. The Constitution of India has vested in the Election Commission of India the superintendence, direction and control of the entire process for conduct of elections to Parliament and Legislature of every State and to the offices of President and Vice-President .of India.Untill 1989, the Election Commission was governed by a Chief Election Commissioner. From 1993 onwards two additional Election Commissioners were appointed. When any other election commissioner is so appointed, the chief election commissioner shall act as the chairman of the election commission.

The chief election commissioner and the two other election commissioners have equal powers and receive equal salary, allowances and other perquisites, which are similar to those of a judge of the Supreme Court. Salary of the Chief Election Commissioner currently is ₹250,000. They have tenure of 6 years, or up to the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

The Chief Election Commissioner cannot be removed by the President, except as a consequence of the passing of a resolution by the Parliament on the grounds of proven misbehaviour or incapacity. CEC does not hold his office till the pleasure of the president, though he is appointed by him.

My Vote Matters is the quarterly magazine of Election Commission of India for Free, Fair, Inclusive and Ethical Elections.

Chief Election Commissioners of India Since Independence

  1. Sukumar Sen   21 Mar 1950–19 Dec 1958
  2. K. V. K. Sundaram 20 Dec 1958–30 Sep 1967
  3. S. P. Sen Verma 1 Oct 1967–30 Sep 1972
  4. Dr Nagendra Singh 1 Oct 1972–6 Feb 1973
  5. T. Swaminathan 7 Feb 1973–17 Jun 1977
  6. S. L. Shakdhar 18 Jun 1977–17 Jun 1982
  7. R. K. Trivedi 18 Jun 1982–31 Dec 1985
  8. R. V. S. Peri Sastri 1 Jany 1986–25 Nov 1990
  9. Smt V. S. Ramadevi 26 Nov 1990–11 Dec 1990
  10. T. N. Seshan 12 Dec 1990–11 Dec 1996
  11. Dr M. S. Gill 12 Dec 1996–13 Jun 2001
  12. J. M. Lyngdoh 13 Jun 2001–7 Feb 2004
  13. T. S. Krishnamuruthy 7 Feb 2002–15 May 2005
  14. B. B. Tandon 16 May 2005–29 Jun 2006
  15. N. Gopalaswami 29 Jun 2006–20 Apr 2009
  16. Navin Chawla 21 Apr 2009–29 Jul 2010
  17. S. Y. Quraishi 30 Jul 2010–10 Jun 2012
  18. V. S. Sampath 11 Jun 2012–15 Jan 2015
  19. H. S. Brahma 15 Jan 2015–18 Apr 2015
  20. Nasim Zaidi 19 Apr 2015 – 5 July 2017
  21. Achal Kumar Jyoti 6 July 2017-22 January 2018
  22. Om Prakash Rawat 23 January 2018-1 December 2018
  23. Sunil Arora 2 December 2018-12 April 2021
  24. Sushil Chandra 13 April 2021-14 May 2022

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!