Nikhat Zareen becomes the fifth Indian woman to be crowned world champion in the Women’s World Boxing Championships in Istanbul,Turkey.

Nikhat Zareen beat Thailand’s Jitpong Jutamas 5-0 in the flyweight division of the championship on 19 May 2022 to win the Women’s World Boxing Champion title.  Zareen, a 2019 Asian Championship bronze medallist, hails from the city of Nizamabad in Telengana.

Mary Kom in 2018 had won the AIBA World Champion held at New Delhi. Mary Kom (2002, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2010 and 2018) is the only woman to have won the world title six times. She was nominated to Rajya Sabha in 2016. In 2021, Zareen lost to Mary Kom and could not qualify for the Olympics. Zareen is the only woman to win two golds at Strandja Memorial Tournament.

Laishram Sarita Devi (Manipur), Jenny R. L. (Mizoram) and Lekha L C (Kerala) have won the world champions for India.

Manisha Moun (57kg) and debutant Parveen Hooda (63kg) had won bronze medals in the Championships.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted congratulating the winners, that “Our boxers have made us proud! Congratulations to @nikhat_zareen for a fantastic Gold medal win at the Women’s World Boxing Championship. I also congratulate Manisha Moun and Parveen Hooda for their Bronze medals in the same competition”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!